Altopiano di Asiago








In the Vicentine Pre-Alps, past the step that rises from the plain to an altitude of 1,000 meters, the view opens into a scenery of pastures dotted with districts, against the backdrop of fir forests: the Asiago Plateau, or the Sette Comuni. Climbing up a steep road of ten hairpin bends, the plateau shows itself dotted with vast meadows, bell towers towering over the various villages and surrounding peaks. In addition to Asiago, the plateau includes the towns of Rotzo, Roana, Lusiana, Conco, Gallio, Foza, and Enego. The plateau was severely tested in 1916, during World War I, particularly in the areas of Ortigara, Cima Caldiera, Portule, Cima Undici and Cima Dodici where numerous forts and trenches are still preserved. Among the forts, Verena, Interrotto, Corbin, Lisser and Campolongo are still well recognizable. On Leiten Hill also stands the Military Memorial, which holds the remains of more than 50 thousand fallen soldiers from the Battle of Ortigara.

Services on location

? Acqua
? Corrente elettrica
? Servizi
? Ascensore
? Parcheggio
? Possibilità di pernottamento